Burned Out

Last Thursday I was talking to a friend of mine before our swim meet and she asked me if I ever get burned out from all the coaching? My quick reaction was No. Can never say you are burned out only 4 weeks into the season, and could never say that when your kid is on team.

But then I got home and I started thinking about it.

Burned Out. What does it really mean? Does it just mean tired? Because even when I am not coaching I am tired. Being a Husband and Dad and Friend and Co-Worker and Coach takes a great deal of energy and time.

I just finished reading The Energy Bus by Jon Gordon. I would highly recommend it. It talks a great deal ask_garyvee_template_Podcast_copyabout positive energy and what you can do with it and how to use it to your advantage. You have to have a plan, have the right people supporting your plan, and then help those around you also reach their goals.

Wonder if anyone at my “fun job” has heard me say something like that before. Heck, I am sure there are people at my real job that hear me say that on a regular basis.

The other tie to being burned out is to Gary Vaynerchuk.  Once again, I highly recommend him. But I warn you, he is very energized. I can only equate it to the first time I saw Amy Schumer in Trainwreck.  Never knew her or anything about her. She is not for everyone, but her style can grow on you.  Same as Gary. He knows his stuff, some think he is arrogant. I think he is just confident.

Gary has a segment on his web site called #AskGaryVee  During a recent segment a person asked Gary how he has the time and energy to get things done.  And his short answer basically was that if you love what you are doing then you are All In and then you always have time and the energy to get it done.

So there it is in a nut shell. I do not get burned out, but I do know when to take a step back and decompress. Like I did this past weekend. A little rest once in a while helps as well.

About kbedalov

Husband, Father, Coach, Friend. Just living life the way it was suppose to be: honorably, respectfully, and passionately. View all posts by kbedalov

Leave a Reply

