With this Ring

I think we have reached a tipping point in our priorities when it comes to discussions that deal with peoples personal lives.  Let me explain.

Got a hair cut a couple of weeks ago.  No one said anything.  Yes, my hair usually looks the same, but it was shorter.

Haven’t been wearing my wedding ring for three weeks, and only one person said a word.

BUT, I send my iPhone case out for a warranty claim for replacement, and EVERYONE notices.  So much to the fact that they purposely bring it up and we talk about it for long lengths of time.No Ring

You would think not wearing a wedding ring would be an obvious point of discussion.  But for some reason it is not.

The story behind it in case you were wondering….Michelle and I will be married for 20 years this summer, and I told her I would like to get a new band.  Well, we went to get my finger sized which required that I take the existing ring off.  It did not go so well.  The existing ring is way too small and forcing it off made my finger all swollen.  So, we could not get it sized that day, we had to wait for the swelling to go down, and now I cannot get what will be the old ring back on.

Are people just afraid to talk about why I was not wearing my ring?  Are we that hyper sensitive to the recent higher separation rate that people just do not want to know?  It does not make much sense to me.

Can’t wait to get my cell phone case back so we can get back to normal conversations again.

About kbedalov

Husband, Father, Coach, Friend. Just living life the way it was suppose to be: honorably, respectfully, and passionately. View all posts by kbedalov

One response to “With this Ring

  • Shiloh

    Interesting. I always comment when people get their hair cut. Typically the recently shorn person seems surprised by my comment. I thought maybe I should stop doing it, but you’ve motivated me to continue. Nice post.

Leave a Reply

