Super Sunday

Flag or No FlagThis post is for all my officiating friends, and it does not matter what sport.

Sunday’s Big Game is on the line and the outcome is in the balance, and an official makes a “No-Call” on a play.  The TV Announcer says that this is a good “No-Call” because the players need to make plays.  And the more times he watched it in slow motion he talks himself out of that premise, and says it could have been a call.

Now regardless of who you wanted to win the game, what is your position on the “No-Call”.  In a sport like football, basketball, and maybe soccer — the “No Call” has become more and more the norm instead of the exception.

For my swimming friends, I can only equate it to not calling a stroke infraction or early take off in the 400 free relay because it is the last event in a dual meet.

My position has always been, that if it was a foul or penalty 2 minutes into the game why does that change when there are only 2 minutes left in the game?  No more situational officiating.

About kbedalov

Husband, Father, Coach, Friend. Just living life the way it was suppose to be: honorably, respectfully, and passionately. View all posts by kbedalov

5 responses to “Super Sunday

  • Brian

    I don’t agree with the reasoning for not making a call in that situation. I would not have made a call because it seemed to be going both ways…both players were making contact and it would be hard to differentiate one from another. Seems like the mindset of calling penalties in playoff hockey overtime.

    I agree with your analogy to swimming. The only time that I would make a “no-call” in swimming (and I have done it) are in events where the competitor is clearly in last place or clearly will not affect the outcome of the meet…pretty much exclusively in JV events. In those cases, I will inform the coach that I noticed an infraction, and that they should make sure that the correct the infraction with the swimmer. I also base this decision on what I know about the coach, knowing that some coaches will actually address that situation as I wish.

    • kbedalov

      If I read your response correctly…you are saying that in your opinion there was no penalty thus you would not have thrown a flag. But if that were DPI, then you would have thrown a flag because it would be the correct call??

      And I agree, that when I officiate, I give the swimmer the benefit of the doubt. I have to make sure that I really did see it.

  • Rob Schneider

    I agree 100%. It is reflective of our society. The rules seem to be a show, put in place to give the illusion of “system” until it really matters, and then all parties revert to a kind of “survival of the fittest.” Outcomes in civil society, or in games, should be rule based, regardless of situation or participant status (see the Michael Jordan rules). Good post, Kyle!!

    • kbedalov

      Jordan Rules is a great example Rob. Thanks.

      The NBA was and still is setup to protect the “Jordan’s” of the league. I think it has gotten a little bit better since MJ retired, but it is still not good.

      We heard a lot of the replacement officials in the NFL say that they were told not to make calls on a hail mary after the Packer debacle back against Seattle. Not sure why I did not post this then.

  • Erickson

    My mind immediately went to the Packers / Seahawks game, thinking about how 2 high-profile “no-calls” changed the course of the season.

    The way that play unfolded, if you give the passer the benefit of the doubt, it certainly seemed the receiver was impeded en route to the ball. I think I would’ve thrown the flag upon seeing the contact. What I don’t think you see enough of is refs conferring and picking up the flag after the fact.

    For me, this was a lesser-of-two-evils SuperBowl(tm). On the one hand, I still remember Jim Harbaugh claiming that Mike Tomzack was sending signals to Jim McMahon to help the Packers knock him out of the game, and I’ve never respected him since. On the other hand, Ray Lewis is treated as some kind of Christian hero for not being convicted of killing two guys. It was tough to gin up any excitement for either of them.

Leave a Reply

