All Grown Up

Starting last season I made the conscious decision to start calling the team I coach the Women’s Swimming and Diving team instead of the Girl’s Swimming and Diving team.

It may seem like a small, subtle change to most people, but I thought it was something that needed to be done.

My coaching philosophy has always been to make the team better people first, and then better athletes.  I am convinced that doing this way pays more dividends in life down the road then just focusing on them becoming better athletes.

And then I cam across this quote from Bobby Orr, one of the Greatest Hockey Legends of All Time, on the NFHS Coaching Education Web Site

Developing better people should be the number one goal for any coach when dealing with kids. In trying to develop better people, we are going to develop more and better pros.

Girl’s has such a negative connotation for what we are trying to accomplish.  During their high school years these young Women will have the opportunity to acquire their driver’s license and some will even be able to vote for the first time.  Both are very important and responsible decisions that Women make, not Girls.

I often state that the best thing that happens to Freshman is that they become Sophomores.  Not sure exactly what it is but there is some metamorphous that occurs.  It could be just that they are a year older and a year wiser, but I think the system we use starts to click, and the one year of high school experience in the classroom and in the pool allows them a bit more confidence.

The term Women just screams of Confidence.  It understates the fact that they are Strong.  They want to be Leaders that Strive for Success.  With all the things in society that are negatives around them, we are just trying to give these young adults the best chance to succeed.

About kbedalov

Husband, Father, Coach, Friend. Just living life the way it was suppose to be: honorably, respectfully, and passionately. View all posts by kbedalov

4 responses to “All Grown Up

  • Dana

    I am proud to say you were my coach! I LOVE this philosophy!

  • kbedalov

    Thanks Dana! I just read this quote and could have put this one in the article also.

    “A good coach will make his players see what they can be rather than what they are.” – Ara Parseghian, College Football Hall of Famer

  • Mary Breger

    I really like this Kyle- Thanks for a great season and all that you have done for the team. Mary Breger

    • kbedalov

      Thanks Mary. Trying to grow as a coach and one of my outlets for doing so is by putting my ideas on paper and then into this forum. I think it leads to some insight on why I do the things I do 🙂 Most of the time it works out for the best!

Leave a Reply

