One Door Closed, One Door Open

I am firm believer that things in life happen for a reason.  Sometimes that reason is unknown, sometimes that reason sucks, sometimes it rains.

What is important is the reaction you have and the actions that you take.  Is the glass half full or half empty?  Is it partly sunny or partly cloudy?

When a challenge comes to you, you basically have these choices:

  • Accept the challenge and take it head on with a plan in place
  • Admit defeat and allow the challenge to beat you
  • Punt and Run Away

Leaders “Dive head first” into the first option and do not accept defeat as a possible solution or answer.  When I was let go three years ago this October from a job that I thought would be my final one, I hung my head for a day or two; but then did let my pursuit for a new career slow me down.

Now that is a little dramatic, but each day we have things in our lives that challenge us.  I urge you to stay positive and work diligently at staying positive until you can conquer the task at hand.

I leave you with this video.  No matter how my day is going, this video always puts me in the right frame of mind.

About kbedalov

Husband, Father, Coach, Friend. Just living life the way it was suppose to be: honorably, respectfully, and passionately. View all posts by kbedalov

2 responses to “One Door Closed, One Door Open

  • Rob Schneider

    Dude… just watched the video, looking for a nugget of motivation…what matters then? You must have edited out the motivational part. 🙂

    In seriousness, I have two mottoes that go along with your position here.

    The first is from camping trips. I make all participants abide by the following: “There is no such thing as ‘bad conditions’…. only “conditions.” Your response to conditions will determine how good this camping trip is, even if it is raining constantly.”

    The second is from my road biking (days of yore): “Hills are our friends.” It gains you not one ounce of muscle or speed to bitch about a hill. Climb it with gusto and thank it next time when you climb it faster.

    • kbedalov

      Rob, thanks for reading.

      I love the video because I coach at North and the nickname is the Northstars just like the Bill Murray’s camp and Camp Tomahawk reminds me of Arrowhead HS in a fun way.

      Your points are awesome. It is all about choices. You see an opportunity and make a choice. Some choose to go for the A and some settle for the C +

Leave a Reply

