History of the Ride

Black Beauty is no more. So I thought I would go back and relive the History of all of My Rides up to this point. And let me tell you, it was great thinking of all the awesome things I have done with these cars.

The vehicles below are the ones where I was the primary driver.  All have been automatic transmission.

Vehicle #1 – 1983 Silver Mazda 626

I was not able to find any good pictures to fully represent this machine. First car that I ever owned. My dad made me take it to a dealer to have it tested to make sure it was a good buy. And since I was still living at home at the time, I did as my Dad said.  Did not know much about cars….I know, hard to believe based off what I know now, which is zero.  But I did know that this was the key to having a job, because I did not want to drive this car forever.

1989 Beretta GT

Vehicle #2 – 1989 Black Chevy Beretta GT

Favorite part was the digital dashboard. It totally rocked. Reminded me a great deal of Knight Rider. The video below will show why.

Also, I had a monster size trunk that allowed, ready for this, to take three 15 inch CRT monitors still in the box with me for installs for the job I had at the time. Pretty sure that this car made a great deal of trips from Milwaukee to Madison.

1995 Pathfinder

Vehicle #3 – 1995 Blue Nissan Pathfinder SE

First vehicle with 4 wheel drive, and could be switched on the fly. This was a beast. We were sitting at a stop light one time, and got rear ended from someone, and it did not even put a dent into the trunk.  We used it for a ton of stuff. It carried all of the bricks for our flag pole retaining wall. It helped us move from the old house to the new house. It eventually had to be put down because it needed too much in repairs. If I remember correctly, we started this out on a lease for under $200 a month.  I had a Badger and a Notre Dame tire cover for the spare tire that was on the back of the truck.

1999 Altima

Vehicle #4 – 1999 Black Nissan Altima SE

After 171K, Black Beauty needed too much extra work to keep her going. Breaks were starting to fail, power antenna stopped working years ago, remote key lock was suspect for the past year, power window on driver’s side needed extra help to close all the way.  I think Michelle was glad to be rid of this car.  She did not enjoy it being such a low rider 🙂   It had just the right amount of cup holders as well.  Made it through a good deal of swim practice and meets and was good at waiting around for swimmers to be picked up.

2011 FIT

Vehicle #5 – 2011 Vortex Blue Pearl Honda FIT Sport

Since I am driving over 17 thousand miles a year with more than sixty percent being for work, I needed something that was getting better than the 22 mpg that I was getting with Black Beauty. Giving a little up in trunk space but am gaining it all back on comfort and smooth ride. In all the research done before the purchase, most magazines had it rated first or second in its class and it was a Best Buy in Consumer Reports.  After fice days, I am still jacked up for the history that can be made in this one.  And the quest for the perfect nickname for this one is now on.

About kbedalov

Husband, Father, Coach, Friend. Just living life the way it was suppose to be: honorably, respectfully, and passionately. View all posts by kbedalov

2 responses to “History of the Ride

Leave a Reply

