TED – Ideas Worth Sharing

I am not sure how many people watch TED or for that matter, even know what TED is about.  I really did not know much about it, until my boss asked me if I ever watched stuff on the site.  I said NO.  But once I got an iPad, and downloaded the TED application, I have gotten into the habit of trying to watch TED.

From their own website:

TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader.

Ideas Worth Spreading.   Think about it.  In a nutshell it is part of what Social Media is all about.  Ideas that we think are good, that we are trying to share with others.  Not for any motif of profit or fame or glory…but to make things better.  The TED mission is simply stated in Spread Ideas.

The site itself is mostly videos of speakers talking about ideas that will help change in a positive way.

Now the video I am showing below is about 18 minutes long and it specifically is in relation to Social Media, but the key is the last three minutes.

Morgan Spurlock says “When you train your employees to be risk adverse, then you’re preparing your whole company to be reward challenged.

That is just powerful.

Watch the video here:  http://youtu.be/6c0VtOdibcI

About kbedalov

Husband, Father, Coach, Friend. Just living life the way it was suppose to be: honorably, respectfully, and passionately. View all posts by kbedalov

4 responses to “TED – Ideas Worth Sharing

  • Ruth Ann ahnen

    Hey Kyle, I love TED talks, I have been watching them for a while. Brilliant minds sharing on every topic imaginable. You have a wise boss ! Enjoy

    • kbedalov

      Thanks Ruth Ann. It is so enjoyable to listen to people that are passionate about their topic. It is refreshing as well. With all the political garbage and negative news coverage about everything possible, to hear someone talk about something with such deep conviction aspires me to be better as well.

  • Rob Schneider

    Radical Transparency. It could improve so much, but opposition arises from those who don’t perceive it as in their interests. You know who they are:
    …the person who believes that ‘profit is the difference between what I know and what my customer knows.” They seek “finer print,” more jargon.
    …the person who believes their way is THE right way, and if they expose it to public scrutiny they’ll never get it done. (Easier to ask forgiveness than permission.)
    …the company that things open source should be killed so they can keep on doing proprietary.
    … the company who employs scientists to do basic research, and then doesn’t share the data which would be beneficial to ALL, because they have a monopoly interest in not participating in the idea of “universal improvement”

    I’m sure there are others you can think of who feel transparency is not in their interest. It ultimately is in the interest of all of us.

    • kbedalov

      Thanks for the comments Rob.

      I guess I am getting too old. I sniff that stuff out now and just choose to not work/purchase/talk/deal/associate with those people as a general rule. There are cases where I am forced to, but I just elect not to.

      There are so many other things in life that are positive, why work with people that are deceitful on purpose for the Almighty Dollar. Now, do not read into this that I am not for making a profit as a business. I think one has to so the company can stay open. But I would rather prove my worth to you as a consumer, than hide “facts” to protect me from you finding out.

Leave a Reply

